Skip to content

Faculty

Name

Title

Areas of Specialization

Email

Lily Alavi

Affiliated Instructor of Perisan

 

lily.alavi@utah.edu

Soheila Amirsoleimani

Affiliated Associate Professor - L&L, Persian

  • Literature of early Perso-Islamic world
  • Persian language
  • Historiography

soheila1@gmail.com

Gunseli Berik

Affiliated Professor - Economics

  • Development Economics
  • Labor Economics
  • Feminist Economics

berik@economics.utah.edu

Nilufer Cagatay

Affiliated Professor - Economics

  • Development Economics
  • International Economics
  • Gender Economics

cagatay@economics.utah.edu

Korkut Erturk

Affiliated Professor - Economics

  • Macroeconomics
  • Political Economy

korkut@economics.utah.edu

Caren Frost

Adjunct Associate Professor - Family And Preventive Medicine

  • Refugee Women’s Health
  • Physical & Nutritional Fitness in Youth
  • Behavioral Aspects of Breast Cancer

caren.frost@socwk.utah.edu

Amos Guiora

Affiliated Professor (Lecturer) - Law

  • Counterterrorism
  • Criminal Law
  • International Law

amos.guiora@law.utah.edu

Ani Honarchiansaky

Post-Doctoral Fellow Middle East Studies

 

ani.honarchiansaky@utah.edu

Robert Kagabo

Affiliated Adjunct Assistant Professor, Family And Preventive Medicine

  • Public Helath
  • Family Medicine

M.A. Mujeeb Khan

Affiliated Assistant Professor WLC

  • Japan; Arab-Islamic World
  • East Asian (Sinitic) Cultural Sphere
  • Islamicate Cultural Sphere
  • Comparative Intellectual History
  • History of Science and Medicine (Chinese and Sino-Japanese medicine; Greco-Roman and Islamicate/Arabic medicine)
  • Religion, Science, and Law
  • Law and Society
  • Cross-cultural Representation
  • East-West Communication

mujeeb.khan@utah.edu

David Kieda

Affiliated Professor - Physics

  • High Energy Astrophysics
  • Particle Astrophysics
  • Astronomy Astrophysics

dave.kieda@utah.edu

Sean Lawson

Affiliated Professor (Lecturer) - Law

  • Science and technology studies
  • Critical military, war, and security studies
  • Cybersecurity

sean.lawson@utah.edu

Chris Lippard

Affiliated Assistant Professor - Film & Media Arts

  • Transnational cinematic identities
  • Middle Eastern cinema

c.lippard@utah.edu

Steven Lobell

Affiliated Associate Professor - Political Science

  • International security
  • Foreign policy
  • Political economy

steven.lobell@poli-sci.utah.edu

Chibli Mallat

Affiliated Professor - Law

  • Middle East Law
  • Human Rights

chibli.mallat@law.utah.edu

Kathleen Nicoll

Affiliated Assistant Professor - Geography

  • Lands geomorphology
  • Archaeology

kathleen.nicoll@gmail.com

Debra Penney

Affiliated Associate Professor - Nursing

  • Public Health
  • International Health
  • Women, refugees, health

debra.penney@nurs.utah.edu

Shereen Prewett

Affiliated Associate Instructor of Arabic

 

shereen.prewett@utah.edu

Sheikh Safiullah

Affiliated Faculty

  • History of Middle East 1798-1914
  • Middle East since 1914

s.safiullah@utah.edu

Shereen Salah

Affiliated Instructor (Lecturer) of Arabic

 

shereen.salah@utah.edu

Sonia Salari

Affiliated Associate Professor - Family & Consumer Studies

  • Aging services
  • Family violence
  • Gerontology

sonia.salari@fcs.utah.edu

Maeera Shreiber

Affiliated Associate Professor - English

  • Poetics
  • Religious Studies
  • Jewish Studies

m.shrelber@utah.edu

Rasoul Sorkhabi

Affiliated Research Professor - Energy & Geoscience Institute

  • Oil in the Mid E & Central Asia
  • Petrophysics

rsorkhabi@egi.utah.edu

Elizabeth Tashjian

Affiliated Associate Professor - Finance

  • Financial Distress
  • Security Contract Design

elizabeth.tashjian@business.utah.edu

Margaret Toscano

Affiliated Associate Professor - World Languages and Culture

  • Gender & Sexuality
  • Myth & Religion
  • Mormon Feminism

margaret.toscano@utah.edu

Ewa Wasilewska

Affiliated Associate Professor (Lecturer) - Anthropology

  • Intro to Middle East
  • Silk Road
  • Religion and Fashion in the Middle East

mruczek@aol.com

M. Hakan Yavuz

Affiliated Professor - Political Science

  • Transnational Islamic networks
  • Ethnic/religious conflict
  • Turkey & the Middle East

hakan.yavuz@utah.edu

Last Updated: 2/28/22